what is klout for?

The issues that Klout faced with their servers earlier this week highlighted just how much people have taken to the service.

The first sign was a wave of tweets from people fretting over their tumbling scores:

This was quickly followed by posts from anxious users on Klout’s Facebook page:

The tone of these tweets and posts was one of distress.

So what is it about a Klout score that gets people so involved?

My initial perspective of the service was that it was just another ego play – a more elaborate version of a fan or follower count.

That perception started to change recently though, when I realised that Klout actually offers valuable insights into the ways different kinds of people interact with the content I share across different platforms.

I’m now using Klout as a way to understand how different things work for the different accounts I use.

In that context, I use my Klout Score more for my own guidance and learning than as an external statement of influence.

And in light of the reactions to this week’s outages, I’m guessing I’m not alone in using Klout for more than simple ego-stroking, so I’d love to get a better understanding of what other people are using it for.

Do you use Klout? What do you use it for?

In particular, do you ever publicise your Klout Score for professional purposes?

I’d love to hear about your different uses and experiences in the comments.

0 Responses to “what is klout for?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

