150 not out

Innocent Drinks – those masters of simple marketing – have just released a lovely new piece of activity:

“Hello… My name is Alex Horne and I’m trying to set a World Record to one day be the oldest man in the world. I have been attempting this death-defying feat non-stop for the last 31 years and 7 months and although I’m now getting tired, I am still confident that I can keep going.

So please get behind me, wish me luck and warn me of any imminent dangers. Keep checking this site for regular blog, video and twitter updates and watch me avoid the reaper for another century at least.”

Alex’s video tells more of the story:

Equally mad are his 10 reasons why he believes he’ll succeed in living to be the world’s oldest man:

The whole thing is totally daft, but (I think) that’s pretty much the point.

Overall, it’s a great fit with Innocent’s brand personality, but it doesn’t feel like they’re trying to sell me anything.

Obviously the concept of living to be the world’s oldest person fits well with a brand that promotes a healthy lifestyle, but there’s no overt mention of any Innocent products (at least for now).

Other great elements of this initiative include Alex’s blog:

His twitter page:

And the selection of random bits on the website:

Including this great little competition:

They’re supporting it on their wonderful Facebook page too:

Overall, a lovely bit of fun that successfully deepens my relationship with the brand.

I look forward to seeing how this one evolves.

See for yourselves at Long Live Alex.

5 Responses to “150 not out”


  1. 1 Ulrik April 29, 2010 at 22:02

    Love it! That’s an add campaign I want to follow.

  2. 2 Rayner Seah April 29, 2010 at 22:51

    like what we’ve been discussing the entire time today. 🙂

    ‘avoid dangerous animals’ how does he even think up of something like that? ha

  3. 3 thiagokrafzik May 4, 2010 at 04:57

    I stolen your post!
    Thanks friend!

    Greetings!


  1. 1 “long live Alex” eu apoio! « Não Esquece Trackback on May 4, 2010 at 04:54

Leave a Reply

