perceptions of value

A great talk by Rory Sutherland on the value of advertising:

Rory makes the daring assertion that a change in perceived value can be just as satisfying as what we consider “real” value; his conclusion has interesting consequences for how we look at life.

UPDATE: TED have posted a transcript of the fantastic Q&A session with Rory that accompanied this talk – take a look here.

Quote taken from the TED site. Many thanks to Dave Trott for introducing me to Rory’s speech, and to Anjali for alerting me to the Q&A.

4 Responses to “perceptions of value”


  1. 1 matt nelson October 18, 2009 at 21:34

    Thanks for pointing out the video Simon…The bit about improving the trains speed reminds me a lot of sales saying they need a cheaper product (damaging, doesn’t work)…enter marketing’s great challenge.

  2. 2 Alejandro Walker October 23, 2009 at 00:50

    You know, my mother is spanish and my father is english, and every X-Mas I visit 1/2 of my brit familiy in the UK (I’m in Barcelona right now).

    And I must say…

    I LOVE BRITISH HUMOUR

    p.d.: great sentence “if we changed perceptions and gave value to free assets such as health or happiness we would be conscious of how wealthy we really are”


  1. 1 You light up my life like a polystyrene hat « Creative Is Not A Department Trackback on October 20, 2009 at 23:56
  2. 2 On Launching Google Wave Trackback on October 22, 2009 at 19:16

Leave a Reply

